Let’s play a game of (beauty blog) tag!

I have been nominated by the literary genius Life, Lyrics and Lemoncake to participate in The Beauty Tag.

Rules for this tag:

  • Tag the blogger that nominated you
  • Answer the questions you were given
  • Nominate some others whose blog is about beauty, fashion or lifestyle
  • List ten questions for your nominees to answer
  • Inform the bloggers you nominated

Here goes …!

  1. What is your favourite beauty product and why?

Concealer and illuminator are my must-have! I have pale but sallow skin and hereditary dark shadows that make me look perpetually under-slept, so under-eye reviver is really the only product I’d prefer not to live without.

On a splurge day, it’s YSL Touche Éclat no.2 and on penny-saving days Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer is the one.LPCon_Coll

2. What are your pet peeves?

Rude, condescending and patronising people. I may be small in stature and look young, but if you attempt to undermine me verbally, prepare to be slayed, and if you try and walk through me on a pavement, be ready to get shoulder-charged. Grrr.

3. Favourite fashion trend ATM?

Leggings. The same kind of leggings that I dreaded wearing for school gym classes. The same leggings I now wear voluntarily, and love, as a cosier version of tights in the winter, and a handy stubbly leg-coverer in spring and summer!!! But hey, a girl can change her mind sometimes.

4.What made you start blogging and why?

I write for work, mostly corporate and charity PR and communications, and used to have a beauty column every week in a newspaper in Edinburgh. They cut a lot of staff about four years ago, so that little freelance gig ended, but I had grown to love my beauty writing, and didn’t want to lose my knowledge and contacts, so I created a blog and have nourished it – and let it nourish me – since that time.

5. Dinner with one person dead or alive…who would it be?

Bruce Springsteen, because I was brought up with his music and see him as my honorary dad (apologies to my real dad, who probably sees Bruce as his celebrity brother or cousin. There is a weird family tree happening here!). And Billy McCarthy from Augustines, because I ache to hear all of his stories, and want us to be solid pals.

Billy McCarthy - fantasy dinner guest

Billy McCarthy – fantasy dinner guest

6. If you had to choose one brand whether it’s beauty or fashion what would it be?

It has to be Primark. And H&M. And beauty – on a splurge day, M.A.C cosmetics, and Boots does some mighty fine products at reasonable prices. And you can’t go wrong having a wee rummage in Superdrug, too

7. Do you have a favourite movie?

My favourite films, in no particular order, are ‘Torch Song Trilogy’, ‘Goodfellas’, ‘In Her Shoes’ and ‘Elizabethtown’ – much under-rated, but I fecking heart it big time. ‘Begin Again’ is a new love also.

There are dozens of others that I rate, but these are the ones I go back to time and time again to heal and cheer me.

8. Do you have a quote that keeps you motivated?

‘It ain’t no sin to be glad you’re alive.’ – Badlands, Bruce Springsteen, from Darkness on the Edge of Town (1978).

The grammar nut in me gets that this is wrong; it is not no sin, Double negative – argh! But it sums up a feeling that no matter others’ situation, or an innate guilt at doing alright in life (for now at least), it’s ok to celebrate the life that you have been gifted.

“For the ones who had a notion

A notion deep inside

That it ain’t no sin to be glad you’re alive

I want to find one face that ain’t looking through me

I want to find one place

I want to spit in the face of these badlands.”

9. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?

Edinburgh. My home city, and where I live!

I also have hankerings for London, Belfast, Boston, Dublin, Pitlochry (my second home), and New York, where I would like to visit soon.

10. What are your current TV shows?

I should just say NETFLIX and be done with it …! Recently enjoyed ‘Love’ and ‘Flaked’, ‘Master of None’ and ‘House of Cards’, oh and ‘Orange is the New Black’ – my subscription really pays for itself, right?! Absolutely adored ‘Marvel: Jessica Jones’ and ‘Bosch’ is pretty awesome. A guilty pleasure is ‘First Dates’ – awwww, the romance!

Thank you for tagging me Fiona! I’m not going to tag anyone, but if you want to do it you can answer the same questions that I did, and mention in your post that you got the idea via Time To Talk Beauty!

About Miss G

It ain't no sin to be glad you're alive. Writing, dabbling in beauty, living, drumming and being myself in Edinburgh, Scotland.
This entry was posted in beauty, Blowout Buys, Budget Buys, cosmetics, Edinburgh, feelgood, fun, women. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

